New Year Music Resolutions for 2017 – “Heard it all before”

Welp…it’s the end of December again, so you know what that means – a bunch of goals for the new year. I tried to accomplish my resolutions but life has a way of taking you on detours. That’s fine, as long as the journey isn’t over and I still can reach my destination. This is a follow-up of last year’s resolutions, and will be pretty short. Therefore, here are my New Year Music Resolutions for 2017! Check back later to see if they get done:

Concerts – This year wasn’t my best year for concerts; I only saw two…that I can recall. However, the shows I saw were pretty damn good. I got to see the queen, the legend, the icon Patti LaBelle. I also got to check out the Legends of Southern Hip-Hop tour, featuring Juvenile, 8-Ball & MJG, and Trick Daddy. In July, I separated from my employer and decided to pursue self-employed. In doing so, I had to focus on spending money wisely; which meant less concerts. For example, I was supposed to see Tegan and Sara (for the fourth time, I think) in November. I had actually bought a ticket in September, but ended up selling it only hours before the show in an attempt to be fiscally responsible. There were other shows that I unfortunately missed this year. One performance that I sorrowfully skipped was the legendary duo of Hall & Oates. Another show that I was disappointed in missing was that of new blues artist Leon Bridges. I really enjoy his debut album (it’s good road trip music). And from what I’ve seen on Austin City Limits, his live performance is worth catching. Next time, I guess. So far, 2017 is starting off correctly. I have a ticket to see one of my favorite groups Run the Jewels in January. The following week, I’ll be seeing the legend Gladys Knight. Not too bad, if I must say so.

Production – I still have not learned to use my Akai MPK! I know…I know. You would think with the extra time I’ve had this year, I would have dug deep into production, right? Wrong. It wasn’t like I’ve just been lounging all year though. I’ve been busy building my photography and web/graphic design business. However, I found a little time to spark my interest in recording again. What actually helped was the acquiring of an Akai MPC 2000. Yes, I know there are newer production units on the market but I’m a sucker for classic equipment. I’ve always wanted an Akai MPC, and even had the chance to own one or two previously. However, after I got my Korg ES-1, Yamaha AW1600, and the MPK, I figured I had enough sampling production units. But, when the opportunity presented itself via a good friend selling his MPC, I couldn’t resist. Getting this piece of equipment has reignited my interest in recording and pushing my learning curve of production. This year, I was also pulled back into production thanks to another good friend who wanted a DJ’s touch on one of his songs. Hanging out in his studio, inspired me to get back on my grind. So, here’s to more tracks in 2017!

DJing – Last year, I stated that I would re-dedicate myself to the art of DJing. In 2015, I bought an extra DJ rig, including two more Technics 1210s, another mixer, an amplifier and more speakers. It wasn’t until 2016 that I actually got everything set to go out, including two CD/MP3 turntables and cases for everything in the setup. I only did one gig this year; again, I’ve been focused on photography. However, now that the photography work is a little more established, DJing is back in the picture. In the meantime, I’ve continued to practice; more than I think I did in 2015. As I type this, I have records on standby for mixtapes that should’ve been finished last year. But I have a feeling they’ll be completed sooner rather than later this year. Also, I plan on doing more events this year. I have feeling that will be picking up in 2017.

~ by Keith Robertson on January 1, 2017.

Leave a comment